Follow us:

University Bursar

University Bursar

University Bursar

Mr. Olufemi Stephen Sowunmi, was appointed Bursar of the Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye at the 210th meeting of the Governing Council held on Thursday, 21st September, 2023.

Mr. Sowunmi, a Fellow, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (FCA), was born on March 20, 1972 in Funtua, old Kaduna State, now Katsina State. He obtained a Higher National Diploma (HND) in Science Laboratory Technology in 1994 from Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro with a Distinction grade winning nine (9) academic awards at graduation. He became an Associate Member, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ACA) in 2000, and later bagged a Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Accounting with Second Class (Honours) Upper Division from Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye in 2009. He is also a Fellow of the Institute of Corporate Administration, Nigeria and has attended several professional conferences, workshops and seminars within and outside the country.


Mr. Sowunmi joined the services of Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye in November 2003, as a Principal Accountant in the Bursary Department. He has worked in various units of the Bursary, including; Head, Final Accounts (2003-2006); Head, Reconciliation and Due Process (2006-2010); Head, Treasury (2010-2012); Acting Deputy Bursar, Treasury and Information Management; and College Accountant, College of Agricultural Sciences, Ayetoro (2012-2013). Mr. Sowunmi became a Deputy Bursar on October 1, 2017. Until his appointment as the 6th Bursar of the University, he served as the Deputy Bursar/Accountant, Postgraduate School.


Apart from distinguishing himself in his chosen career, the newly appointed Bursar has equally served the University meritoriously in many other capacities. He was Member, University Learned Conference Committee (2004-2007), Member, University Committee on the Implementation of Monetization Policy (2006), Chairman, Bursary Department Committee on Fixed Assets Book Keeping Procedure (2006), Secretary, Committee on the Monitoring and Enhancement of e-collection of School Fees: Operation & Reconciliation (2008-2009), Secretary, Governing Council Sub-Committee on Banking Relationship (June, 2009), Member, University Administrative Committee on the Review & Evaluation of Promotion Criteria for Senior Non-Teaching Staff (2010), Member, 2012/2013 Post UTME Technical Sub-Committee, President, Olabisi Onabanjo University Senior Staff Cooperative Multipurpose Society (2014-2019) and Secretary, Special Marshal, Olabisi Onabanjo University Unit (2014-2020). He has also served as the Finance Officer and Chairman, Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU) OOU Branch Welfare Scheme.


As part of his services to the nation, Mr. Sowunmi has immensely contributed to educational development. He has, at various times, served as ICAN Examination Invigilator, Chief Invigilator, ICAN Assessor since 2015. He was the ICAN District Chairman of Ijebu-Ode & District Society (2012-2015).


The new Bursar is happily married and the union is blessed with children.

Scroll to Top