Follow us:

Faculty of Pharmacy

History of Faculty of Pharmacy

Brief History

The Pharmacy programme started as a Department in the Obafemi Awolowo College of Health Sciences, and later became an autonomous Faculty in 1992. The operation of the academic and clinical services of the faculty is particularly unique for two reasons.  Firstly, the Pharmacy Faculty, Olabisi Onabanjo University is the first Faculty in Nigeria to be conceived, planned and established by Pharmacists themselves. Secondly, both academic and practicing Pharmacists’ services are within the reach of our students.

The foundation Dean was Professor (Mrs.) M. N. Femi-Oyewo, who served meritoriously from 1996-2006.

The availability of skilled and dedicated Lecturers led to the commencement of postgraduate studies in 2006/2007 session, featuring diploma, M.Sc and Ph.D degree programmes in Departments of Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology and Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry, while the postgraduate programme in Pharmacognosy started in 2018/2019 Session.

In appreciation of the invaluable services of our benefactors, who at various times, contributed to the growth and development of this Faculty, the University deemed it fit to dedicate our major laboratories accordingly:

1.   Adeola Ogunbanjo Clinical Pharmacy Laboratory

2.   Paul and Paul Pharmaceutical Dispensing Laboratory

3.   Tabade Pharmaceutical Chemistry Laboratory

4.   Bentos Pharmaceutical Technology Laboratory

5.   Friends of OACHS Laboratory

6.   Bode Ladejobi Pharmacognosy Laboratory

7.   Pfizer Products Plc Instrument Room

8.   Litramed Publication Drug Information Unit.


The Faculty is the co-cordinating centre for the West African Institute for Biotherapeutics (WABIT) for the University, along with four other universities in the West African sub region.  The realization of this goal is in line with the philosophy guiding the Pharmacy Faculty.  Among our credentials, we are also the first State University in Nigeria with an accredited Pharmacy professional programme both with the Pharmacy Council of Nigeria and National Universities Commission.


To be a citadel of learning for academic excellence towards the training of reputable and world class pharmacists.


To produce world class graduates worthy in character and learning.

To serve as custodian of Professional value, ethics and integrity the pharmacy Profession.

To contribute to the development of world class health care system.

Dean faculty of pharmacy
Professor Lateef Saka Kasim


Phone:     +2348062519119

Prof. Lateef Saka KASIM is the Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy, Olabisi Onabanjo University.  He is a professor of Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry and a council member of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN). He is a member of the Pharmacy Council of Nigeria (PCN), member of the Accreditation Committee of PCN, member of the Pharmacy Education Committee and  member of the Science Association of Nigeria (SAN).

Scroll to Top