Follow us:

Faculty of Clinical Sciences

History of Faculty of Clinical Sciences

The faculty was established in Sagamu as a component of Obafemi Awolowo College of Health Sciences following the establishment of Ogun State University now Olabisi Onabanjo University which first started operation on the 31st  January 1983. The Sagamu State Hospital was made the nucleus of the new  Ogun State University Teaching Hospital now Olabisi Onabanjo University Teaching Hospital which commenced operation on the 1st January 1986. The Faculty has had several accreditation visits by regulatory bodies, the first Medical and Dental Council visit to the Faculty was on 10th May 1985.

The Faculty currently has seven clinical departments, which comprises of the following: Anaesthesia, Radiology, Paediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Community Medicine and Primary Care, Medicine and Surgery.  The Faculty has a well-equipped skill acquisition laboratory in addition to excellent training facilities in the Teaching hospital. 

The Community-Based Medical Education and Services (COBMES) program of the Faculty is a unique feature of our curriculum during which a period of training is spent in the various communities and secondary care facilities to experience medical practice outside the teaching hospital environment. This is in addition to our Community Medicine and Primary Care program which also expose the students to many health care facilities in the community. 

The faculty has produced quite a number of Medical Doctors who have proceeded to becoming Consultants and Professors in various fields of medical practice with outstanding contributions to health care delivery, both nationally and internationally.


Prof B. A. Ayoade


Breast cancer/surgical oncology.


·       West African College of Surgeons – (Fellow)

·       Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland – (Fellow)

Scroll to Top