Follow us:

Faculty of Education

History of Faculty Education

Brief History

The Faculty of Education came into existence in 1983 when students were formally enrolled for courses in education. The first Dean of the Faculty was Late Prof. S. H. O. Tomori. Three departments were created at the inception of the Faculty. They were:

  1. Department of Educational Foundations and Management (EFM)
  2. Department of Curriculum Studies and Instructional Technology (CSIT)
  3. Department of Physical and Health Education

During 1986/87 session, an Institute of Education was created to deepen research and training in Educational Management.  In line with the National Universities Commission (NUC) Benchmark Minimum Academic Standard (BMAS) and the need to meet up with modern trends in programme restructuring and departmentalisation, the University Council approved in 2014, the creation additional two Departments to make five Departments in the faculty. The departments were as follows:

  1. Department of Arts and Social Sciences Education
  2. Department of Educational Foundations and Counselling
  3. Department of Educational Management and Business Studies
  4. Department of Human Kinetics and Health Education
  5. Department of Science and Technology Education

The Faculty has since cultivated a tradition of excellence in research and service. Amongst the achievements of the Faculty are:

  1. The first Faculty to produce academic journal,
  2. The first to establish post-graduate programme
  3. The first to establish Sandwich programme,
  4. Production of high level manpower for the teaching profession in Ogun State and in Nigeria and,
  5. Involvement in Research activities


Dean Faculty of Education
Professor Yekinni Abiodun Oguntimehin


Phone: +234(0) 8051533844; 7047877030


School Management Practices, Entrepreneurship Education, Institutional Administration, Educational System Administration, Educational Planning and Policy.

Scroll to Top