Follow us:

Faculty of Agricultural
Production and Renewable Resources

History of Faculty of Agricultural Production and Renewable Resources

Mission of the College

·   To provide opportunity for the acquisition of comprehensive agricultural education, useable farming          and renewable natural resources management skills.

·       To serve as a resource centre for the expansion of agricultural knowledge through research

·       To extend the opportunity to improve agricultural production and renewable natural resources                     management by making available the services and resources of the College, its faculty and staff.

·       To expose students of the University to the problems of agriculture and rural people of the Ogun                State through the University-wide General Studies Programme in Agricultural and Rural                                   Development.

Our History

The College of Agricultural Sciences, Olabisi Onabanjo University took off officially on 1st October, 1983 in Ayetoro and following the suspension of the multi-campus system was relocated to Ago-Iwoye in October, 1984. The College at inception comprised four departments; Department of Animal Production, Department of Crop Production, Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management, Department of Agricultural Extension and Rural Sociology.

In December, 1998 in order to succinctly deliver on the mission of the College, the collegiate structure took off with the creation of two Faculties viz; Faculty of Agricultural Management and Rural Development (FAMARD) and Faculty of Agricultural Production and Renewable Resources (FAPRER).

At inception, the Faculty of Agricultural Production and Renewable Resources consisted of the Departments of:

(i)        Animal Production (ANP)

(ii)       Crop Production (CRP)

(iii)      Soil Science and Farm Mechanization (SSFM) and

(iv)      Renewable Resources (RRS)

At present, the Faculty of now consist of the Departments of:

(i)        Animal Production (ANP) awarding the degree of B. Agric (Animal Production)

(ii)       Crop Production (CRP) awarding the degree of B. Agric (Crop Production) and

(iii)      Forestry Wildlife and Fisheries (FWF) awarding the degrees of B. Forestry and Wildlife Mgt. and B.              Fisheries Management.

All programmes are fully accredited by the National University Commission (NUC). The Departments of Animal Production and Crop Production also run Postgraduate Diploma, Masters and Ph.D programmes. For practical instructions, departments have well equipped laboratories and University teaching and research farms. The Faculty is blessed with excellent human resources to give the best training in the field of Agriculture.

Prof. Hakeem A. Awojobi


Telephone: +2347064835049

Profile of the Dean

The Dean of the Faculty, Prof. H. A. Awojobi is an Animal Scientist. Hakeem A. Awojobi is a first class graduate of the Department of Animal Production, Ogun State University (Now. Olabisi Onabanjo University). He had his Masters and doctoral studies at the Department of Animal Science, University of Ibadan completing the M.Sc and Ph.D in 1997 and 2007 respectively. He was employed as graduate assistant in 1995 and rose through the ranks to become a Professor of Animal Nutrition in 2018. He teaches nutrition and physiology related courses at both the undergraduate and postgraduate levels. He has served the University at various levels including; College of Agricultural Sciences Coordinator, Student Industrial Work Experience Scheme (SIWES), Coordinator, College of Agricultural Sciences Degree Foundation Programme, Director, College of Agricultural Sciences Teaching and Research Farms and Acting Head, Department of Animal Production among others.

His research focus is majorly on reproduction and nutrition studies in poultry, swine and rabbit. He has over 50 publications to his credit in journals and conference proceedings.

Scroll to Top