Follow us:

OOU: Abiodun Inaugurates New Governing Council

The Visitor to the University and Governor of Ogun State, Prince Dapo Abiodun MFR, has inaugurated the new Governing Council of Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU), Ago-Iwoye, with a charge to its members to deploy their vast experiences and social-network to drive the institution’s development.

The Visitor gave the charge while inaugurating the Governing Councils of State-owned tertiary institutions on Thursday, 25th August 2022 at the June 12 Cultural Centre, Abeokuta.

For OOU, Prof. Toyin Ashiru was sworn in as the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Governing Council. Other members appointed and inaugurated by the Visitor include Mr Kunle Ogunmefun, Chief Joju Fadairo, Chief Adepegba Otemolu and Chief (Mrs) Iyabo Apampa.

Also to serve as members are the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ganiyu Olatunji Olatunde; Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, Prof. Deji Agboola; Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Administration, Prof. Charles Adekoya; representative of Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, representatives of Senate, representatives of Congregation, representative of Convocation and the University Registrar, Mr Femi Ogunwomoju, who will serve as Secretary to Council.

In his address on the occasion, Prince Abiodun urged the Council members to ensure they surpass whatever they inherited.

He noted that the appointees have the responsibility to ensure the management of the institution, development of its infrastructure and curriculum planning, among others, are actually in tandem with the development needs of Ogun State. According to him, education is the proud legacy bequeathed to Ogun State and its people must sustain the heritage of leading the way in the production of competent, capable and morally upright human resource capacities for the development of the nation.

The Visitor described the Governing Council members as symbolic representations of the best brains available not only in the State but also in the country, adding that their individual and collective achievements have qualified them for higher service to the State.

He said, “We thank God that many of you have gathered vast experience in both the public and private sectors. We expect that you will deploy your vast experiences and social-network to drive the development of these various institutions through a robust Public-Private Partnership.” “I expect you as members of these Governing Councils to offer quality advice to Government. You must entrench improved and newer culture of efficiency and effectiveness which will make these institutions favourable competitors in the global educational industry.”

Prince Abiodun, who highlighted his administration’s investments in the area of education as well as remarkable achievements recorded since assumption of office, restated his commitment to the continued development of the education sector.

“Let me use this opportunity to re-assure all the people of Ogun State that our Administration is irrevocably committed to the successful implementation of all our ISEYA Pillars towards the continued development of our dear State and ensuring increased prosperity for the people. The constitution of these Governing Councils is a symbolic representation of our commitment to the continued development of the education sector, in particular,” he said.

The Visitor further added: “Let me also assure all the people of Ogun State that even as we approach the electoral period, we will not reduce the tempo and tenor of our commitment. Rather, you will all see in practical terms a renewed vigour in the formulation of policies and implementation of programmes that are people-friendly, which will, in turn, ensure the continued development of our dear State.

“In doing this, we solicit the continued support, cooperation, prayer and collaboration of all our people. We must all understand that Project-Ogun State is not for one person. It is our commonwealth. Together, we will build an Ogun State of our joint dream.”

Responding on behalf of all the Chairmen and members of Governing Councils, the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council, Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, Prof. Toyin Ashiru, expressed appreciation to the Governor for counting him and others worthy of the new appointments. He pledged the full commitment of the Council members to the enormous task at hand, adding that they will sustain and further project the enviable heights which education in Ogun State is known for.

Ashiru said, “The importance of education particularly at the tertiary level cannot be overemphasised. we are aware of the enormous financial resources required to provide quality education at this level and the limitations of government in providing all the funds required for this purpose.

“we are also aware that perhaps the most important aspect of our assignment is to reduce the burden of the State government in this regard and provide alternative sources of funding for these institutions.

“We shall therefore commence immediately the process of ensuring that we increase the internally generated revenue of the various institutions through the encouragement of quality and productive research useful for the thriving industries in Ogun State and Nigeria as a whole. We will also commence the drive to source for international funding for the institutions.”

Apart from OOU, the State-owned tertiary institutions whose Councils were reconstituted include Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun; Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta; Gateway (ICT) Polytechnic, Saapade; Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa; Abraham Adesanya Polytechnic, Ijebu-Igbo; Ogun State College of Health Technology, Ilese and D. S. Adegbenro Polytechnic, Itori.

Scroll to Top