Follow us:

OOU Now a University Of First Choice

Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye has been described as a “University of First Choice for candidates seeking admission into Universities.  This assertion was made by the University Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ganiyu Olatunji Olatunde during the 28th/29th combined convocation ceremonies for the awards of postgraduate degrees and diplomas held on Friday, 31st January, 2020 at Otunba Gbenga Daniel Lecture Theatre.

L-R: Pro-Chancellor, Mrs. Belo-Olusoga; Mrs. Zainab Ahmed, Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning; Governor, Ogun-State, Prince Dapo Abiodun; Major General S.A. Awosanya (Rtd.); Olori and Oba Kehinde Adegbenle, the Olu of Ilaro; the VC, Prof. G.O. Olatunde; DVC, Academic, Prof. Deji Agboola and the DVC, Admin. Prof. (Mrs.) Ebun Oduwole.

According to the Vice-Chancellor, the University has continued to experience sustained growth and development in the last eight years.  He stated further that the institution has enjoyed the needed stability to achieve its tripod mandate and run efficiently without disruptions.
Professor G. O. Olatunde, thereafter, revealed that “this has impacted positively on the desires of many candidates to be students of the University and made the University a University of First Choice for candidates seeking admission.”

Citing the 2019 Post-Utme exercise to buttress his point, the Vice-Chancellor informed the congregation that over 20,000 candidates were screened for admission into the various programmes of the University with less than 7,000 candidates admitted due to the quota allocated to the University by Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB).

“This is a significant development, especially, when compared with what obtains some years back during the troubled years of the University with less than 1,000 candidates applying.” Said, the Vice-Chancellor.  He, however, attributed the new success story to the resolve of the staff and students of the University to ensure that there was sustenance of peace and development in the institution.

Professor Ganiyu Olatunji Olatunde, therefore thanked the entire members of the University community for the feat and assured them of management’s resolve to continue to engage them constructively, in order to jointly work to achieve the dreams of the founding fathers of the University.

To the lucky graduands, the Vice-Chancellor congratulated them for completing their studies in record time, without any disruption in the academic calendar of the University.  He admonished them to be worthy ambassadors of the University.  Speaking assuredly, Professor Olatunde told the graduands that the University was not in doubt that they would excel wherever they go considering the depth of training given to them while in school.  He, thereafter, advised them to remember their alma mater as they go into the world while also wishing them the best of opportunities.  He also  congratulated the parents of the graduands for witnessing the graduation ceremony of their wards having supported them financially and morally over the years.

At the end of the convocation ceremonies which spanned a period of four days, the combined statistics of graduands were:  42 First Class, 1,543 Second Class Upper Division, 4,422 Second Class Lower Division, 2,847 Third Class Degree and 302 Pass Degree.
At the Postgraduate level, 192 were awarded Postgraduate Diploma Degree with 882 Master’s Degree and 124 Ph.D. Degree.

The highpoint of the Convocation Ceremonies was the conferment of Honorary Doctorate Degrees on three distinguished Nigerians who according to the Vice-Chancellor, have been carefully selected based on their outstanding contributions to the development of Ogun State, Nigeria and humanity.  The eminent personalities were:  Mrs. Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed, Honourable Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, an alumnus of the University; His Royal Majesty, Oba (Dr.) Kehinde Olugbenle, MFR, the Olu of Ilaro and Paramount Ruler of Yewa land and Major General Sansadeen Adebanjo Awosanya, Rtd., Group President, Brent Mortgage Bank.

Scroll to Top