Follow us:

OOU DON conferred with Fellow of the Astronomical Society of Nigeria

OOU DON conferred with Fellow of the Astronomical Society of Nigeria
Professor Victor Uzodinma Chukwuma

On Friday, 23rd November, 2018, Olabisi Onabanjo University Don, Professor Victor Uzodinma Chukwuma, was conferred with the prestigious award of the Fellow of the Astronomical Society of Nigeria for his immense contribution to the development of Astronomy and Space Science in Nigeria. The award was bestowed on Professor  Chukwuma of the Department of Physics, Faculty of Science, during the 8th National Conference of the Society that held between 21st -24th November, 2018 at Afe Babalola University (ABUAD), Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State with the theme –  “Five Decades of Astronomy and Space Science in Nigeria: Success, Challenges and Prospects”. Similar Fellowship award of the Nigerian Institute of Physics was conferred on this erudite scholar in 2014, for extending the frontier of Space Physics Research. A graduate of the Department of Physics, University of Lagos, Professor Chukwuma began his academic career in November, 1985 as an Assistant Lecturer in the Department of Physics, Ogun State University (now Olabisi Onabanjo University), Ago-Iwoye and rose through the ranks to become the first Professor of Physics in the Department in 2007. Since then, he had served the University meritoriously at various times and in different capacities as the Head of Department of Physics and the Founding Director, Center of Entrepreneurial Studies of the University, amongst others. His wealth of experience, which cuts across different sectors of the Nigerian economy, had made him featured in Infrastructure and Entrepreneurship Consulting and Science Policy Think Thanks where he served as Policy Commission Facilitator for Science and Technology for the highly influential Nigerian Economic Summit Group as well as a member of a Group of Experts that developed the Bachelor of Engineering (B.Eng.) and Master of Engineering (M.Eng.) programme curricula in Power Engineering for the National Universities Commission (NUC) and the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC), amongst others.
OOU Bulletin wish the erudite scholar more feathers to his cap.

Scroll to Top