Follow us:

ICT is the Driving Vehicle of Modern Day University – G. O. Olatunde

The University Acting Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ganiyu Olatunji Olatunde has stressed that the application of the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) was the driving vehicle of a modern day University.

He made this disclosure during the inauguration of an ICT Standing Committee to review and update the University ICT policy.

He stated that the University had started to conduct its activities with ease by using ICT especially during Senate and Council meetings.

He expressed the hope that with the contributions of members of the Committee, the University would achieve its feat of being one of the best Universities in the international webometric ranking.  Thereafter, the Committee members were inaugurated by the Ag.Vice-Chancellor.

In her contributions after the inauguration of the Committee, the University Deputy Vice-Chancellor – Professor Mrs. Ebun Oduwole explained that the use of ICT to complement other Units of the University in their activities most especially the Academic Affairs and the Bursary would guarantee openness, Integrity and effective results.

She added that with her Chairmanship of the Committee, she would ensure that the University attains an enviable status in Nigeria.

The terms of reference for the Committee include initiate; develop and design robust web related programmes for the University and to develop ICT facilities to generate income for the University.  Others are to oversee the deployment of ICT facilities to aid teaching, learning and research in the University, to develop and implement Training modules on ICT for staff and students and to manage the University portal facilities and systems.

The membership of the Committee was drawn from all the Units in the University with Professor Mrs. Ebun Oduwole as the Chairman.  Others are: Dr. F. A. Oguntoye – Director, ICT, Professor Olusegun Folorunso – Rep. Fac. of Science, Dr. O. Folorunsho – Representative of Ibogun Campus, Professor G. A. Adenugba – Chairman, CPDs, Professor R. K. Odunaike – Chairman, Senate Committee on Examination, Professor Deji Agboola – Representing Sagamu/Ikenne Campus, Professor O. A. Oyedeji – Director Academic Planning, Dr. A. S. Onasanya – Representing Ayetoro Campus, Mr. Niyi Oduwole – Deputy Registrar, Corporate Affairs Division, Mrs. Abimbola Onaja – Legal Office, Mr. Olufunmilade Olujinmi – Representing Academic Affairs, Mr. Abiodun Babatola – ICT Staff, and Mr. Wale Adeoye – Deputy Registrar, Vice-Chancellor’s Office.

Scroll to Top